Slack’s big shortcoming during a pandemic

Aaron Cecchini-Butler
3 min readAug 15, 2018

Outside Impressions vs. Reality

Slack logo
From Slack’s media kit

For years, I assumed that Slack was a website for developers, with no real functionality for anyone outside of tech. This was based on my second-hand exposure to the platform, through friends who worked in programming.

old slack logo
RIP to the old logo, Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

When I signed up for my first UX/UI course, I was required to use slack to communicate with my peers and teachers, and realized two things:

1. It is an amazing platform.

2. A lot of people don’t consider it for their use because of the connotation it carries.

Although I can assume many people reading this know what Slack does, for those of you who don’t, here’s a brief explanation:

Slack is a messaging app for use in an organization. It allows for direct and group messages to peers, as well as the creation of subject-specific “channels.” It has a clean UI and allows integrations with external apps to expand its functionality. (Get GIPHY!)

Integration of multiple workplaces is seamless, not requiring the nightmarish “log in/log out” scenario so many apps require.

--

--

Aaron Cecchini-Butler

Senior Systems Designer at Grubhub working on Cookbook (our design system) — as well as contributing to product design work.